In the message, WhatsApp provides more details on what will happen after May 15, when the new terms take effect. From that moment on, information from users will be shared with parent company Facebook.
Nothing will change in the Netherlands. WhatsApp cannot share user information with Facebook within the EU due to European privacy law.
If users do not accept the terms and conditions before the deadline, the account will not be deleted immediately, WhatsApp’s explanation message says. “However, you will not be able to take full advantage of WhatsApp until you accept the updates. For a short period of time you can still receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages through the app.”
After a few weeks, the inactive account policy will take effect. WhatsApp takes four months to delete an inactive account. Within that period, users can still accept the terms and conditions to access their messages.
WhatsApp’s new policy sparked a commotion among users. Alternative chat apps such as Telegram and Signal saw their user numbers rise significantly after WhatsApp announced the new terms.